Skip to content
Aberdeenshire Counts — Aberdeenshire, in numbers.Local help →

Aberdeenshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Aberdeenshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Aberdeenshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 215,870 in 1991 to 264,640 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Aberdeenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 226,990 people in 1996; 264,640 people in 2025. 16.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Aberdeenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991215,870
1992219,970
1993223,100
1994225,560
1995226,070
1996226,990
1997226,020
1998226,220
1999227,240
2000227,020
2001226,940
2002228,830
2003231,250
2004234,690
2005237,570
2006241,180
2007244,390
2008246,830
2009249,020
2010251,430
2011253,650
2012255,750
2013258,130
2014261,350
2015263,250
2016263,460
2017262,920
2018262,220
2019261,900
2020261,510
2021263,140
2022263,750
2023264,850
2024265,110
2025264,640
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Aberdeenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 49,911 people in 1996; 46,549 people in 2025. 6.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Aberdeenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,119
199249,698
199350,227
199450,696
199550,345
199649,911
199749,384
199849,032
199948,734
200048,073
200147,572
200247,242
200346,894
200446,881
200546,856
200647,023
200747,072
200847,151
200947,280
201047,236
201147,503
201247,607
201347,841
201448,393
201548,549
201648,608
201748,577
201848,693
201948,737
202048,700
202148,602
202248,484
202348,291
202447,494
202546,549
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Aberdeenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 147,180 people in 1996; 157,888 people in 2025. 7.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Aberdeenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991138,410
1992141,510
1993143,860
1994145,649
1995146,255
1996147,180
1997146,311
1998146,470
1999147,341
2000147,295
2001146,858
2002148,551
2003150,519
2004153,093
2005155,039
2006157,752
2007159,977
2008161,372
2009162,513
2010164,131
2011165,016
2012165,147
2013165,765
2014166,901
2015167,645
2016166,680
2017165,042
2018163,195
2019161,473
2020159,949
2021160,049
2022159,266
2023159,227
2024158,826
2025157,888
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Aberdeenshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,899 people in 1996; 60,203 people in 2025. 101.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Aberdeenshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199128,341
199228,762
199329,013
199429,215
199529,470
199629,899
199730,325
199830,718
199931,165
200031,652
200132,510
200233,037
200333,837
200434,716
200535,675
200636,405
200737,341
200838,307
200939,227
201040,063
201141,131
201242,996
201344,524
201446,056
201547,056
201648,172
201749,301
201850,332
201951,690
202052,861
202154,489
202256,000
202357,332
202458,790
202560,203
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 263,796 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Aberdeenshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total255,98797%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 252,973 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Aberdeenshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White248,93798.4%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller1750.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group7710.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian4730.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2530.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi1380.1%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese4240.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian7490.3%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British7590.3%
Other Ethnic Group2940.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 1.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Aberdeenshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,631 per person in 1997; £26,395 per person in 2024. 126.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Aberdeenshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,631
199811,782
199911,606
200012,326
200112,948
200213,231
200313,398
200414,328
200515,311
200616,038
200717,060
200817,904
200918,271
201018,693
201119,495
201220,169
201321,389
201421,773
201521,709
201620,551
201720,679
201821,242
201922,140
202021,442
202121,964
202223,124
202324,730
202426,395
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Aberdeenshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 9.6% in 1997; 1.7% in 2024. 7.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Aberdeenshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19979.6
19988.8
19992.6
20003.6
20014.7
20024.6
20032.8
20045.6
20058.9
20069.5
200711.2
200813.7
200914.1
201015.7
201119.6
201219.4
201322.1
201420.4
201514.1
20166.7
20175
20184.1
20195.1
20202.2
20210.5
20220.7
20231.1
20241.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Aberdeenshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Aberdeenshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£205,000

July 2026 · Aberdeenshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.